Chairs and Directors

Department Chairs and School Directors at The Ohio State University

All addresses are located in "Columbus, OH 43210" unless otherwise noted.

The list of Chairs and Directors is updated after every Board of Trustees meeting. 
Changes made in the interim may not be immediately reflected in the list below.

Sorted by College | Alphabetical List

College of Arts and Sciences

Department

Title

Name

Email

Phone

Address

Division of Arts and Humanities

Divisional Dean Peter Hahn hahn.29@osu.edu (614) 292-1882 186 Unversity Hall
230 N. Oval Mall
African American
and African Studies
Interim Chair Valerie Lee lee.89@osu.edu (614) 292-2114 386C University Hall
230 N. Oval Mall
Art Chair Rebecca Harvey harvey.113@osu.edu (614) 292-5072 146 Hopkins Hall
128 N. Oval Mall

Arts Administration, Education, and Policy

Chair Karen Hutzel hutzel.4@osu.edu (614) 292-7183 Ohio Stadium
1961 Tuttle Park Place
Classics Interim Chair Anthony Kaldellis kaldellis.1@osu.edu (614) 292-6693 426 University Hall
230 N. Oval Mall
Comparative Studies Chair Barry Shank shank.46@osu.edu (614) 292-2559 451 Hagerty Hall
1775 College Road
Dance Chair Susan Hadley hadley.4@osu.edu (614) 292-0984 022 Sullivant Hall
1813 N. High Street
Design Chair Mary Anne Beecher beecher.17@osu.edu (614) 292-6746 100 Hayes Hall
108 N. Oval Mall
East Asian Languages and Literatures Chair Mark Bender bender.4@osu.edu (614) 688-5737 398 Hagerty Hall
1775 College Road
English Interim Chair Robyn Warhol warhol.1@osu.edu
(614) 292-6065 421 Denney Hall
164 W. 17th Ave.
French and Italian Chair Jennifer Willging willging.1@osu.edu (614) 292-4938 200 Hagerty Hall
1775 College Road
Germanic Languages and Literatures Chair Robert Holub holub.5@osu.edu (614) 292-6985 498 Hagerty Hall
1775 College Road
History Chair Nathan Rosenstein rosenstein.1@osu.edu (614) 292-3001 106 Dulles Hall
230 W. 17th Ave.
History of Art Chair Lisa Florman florman.4@osu.edu (614) 688-8190 100 Hayes Hall
108 North Oval Mall
Linguistics Chair Shari Speer speer.21@osu.edu (614) 292-2577 222 Oxley Hall
1712 Neil Ave.
Music, School of Interim Director David Bruenger bruenger.1@osu.edu (614) 292-7664 110 Weigel Hall
1866 College Road
Near Eastern Languages and Cultures Chair Kevin van Bladel vanbladel.2@osu.edu (614) 292-5643 300 Hagerty Hall
1775 College Road
Philosophy Chair Justin D'Arms darms.1@osu.edu (614) 292-2510 350 University Hall
230 N. Oval Mall
Slavic and East European Languages and Cultures Chair Yana Hashamova hashamova.1@osu.edu   400 Hagerty Hall
1775 College Road
Spanish and Portuguese Interim Chair Eugenia Romero romero.25@osu.edu (614) 292-4958 298 Hagerty Hall
1775 College Road
Theatre Chair Janet Parrott parrott.1@osu.edu (614) 292-0878 1089 Drake Union
1849 Cannon Drive
Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies Chair Shannon Winnubst winnubst.1@osu.edu (614) 292-1021 286 University Hall
230 N. Oval Mall

Division of Natural and Mathematical Sciences

Divisional Dean Christopher Hadad hadad.1@osu.edu (614) 292-0401 425 Stillman Hall
1947 College Road
Astronomy Chair David Weinberg weinberg.21@osu.edu (614) 292-2022 4055 McPherson Laboratory
140 W. 18th Ave.
Chemistry and Biochemistry Chair Susan V. Olesik olesik.1@osu.edu (614) 688-3141 1118 Newman-Wolfrom Laboratory
100 W. 18th Ave.

Earth Sciences,
School of

Director W. Berry Lyons lyons.142@osu.edu (614) 292-0069 275 Mendenhall Laboratory
125 S. Oval Mall
Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology Chair Elizabeth Marschall marschall.2@osu.edu (614) 292-0835 300 Aronoff Laboratory
318 W. 12th Ave.
Mathematics Chair Luis G. Casian casian.1@osu.edu (614) 292-7173 130 Mathematics Tower
231 W. 18th Ave.
Microbiology Chair Michael Ibba ibba.1@osu.edu (614) 292-2301 376 Biological Sciences Building
484 W. 12th Ave.
Molecular Genetics Chair Mark Seeger seeger.9@osu.edu (614) 688-3306 800 Riffe Building
496 W. 12th Ave.
Physics Chair Brian Winer winer.12@osu.edu (614) 292-2653 1040 Physics Research Building
191 W. Woodruff Ave.

Statistics

Chair Steve MacEachern maceachern.1@osu.edu (614) 292-0293 404 Cockins Hall
1958 Neil Ave.

Division of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Divisional Dean Janet Box-Steffensmeier steffensmeier.2@osu.edu (614) 292-7689 1010 Derby Hall
154 North Oval Mall
Anthropology Chair Clark Larsen larsen.53@osu.edu (614) 292-4117 246 Lord Hall
124 W. 17th Ave.
Communication, School of Director Daniel McDonald mcdonald.221@osu.edu (614) 292-3400 3016 Derby Hall
154 N. Oval Mall
Economics Chair Trevon Logan logan.155@osu.edu (614) 292-4196 410 Arps Hall
1945 N. High Street
Geography Chair Morton O'Kelly okelly.10@osu.edu (614) 292-8744 1062 Derby Hall
154 N. Oval Mall
Political Science Chair Richard K. Herrmann herrmann.1@osu.edu (614) 292-9843 2140 Derby Hall
154 N. Oval Mall
Psychology Chair John Bruno bruno.1@osu.edu (614) 292-3038 225 Psychology Building
1835 Neil Ave.
Sociology Chair Claudia Buchmann buchmann.4@osu.edu (614) 292-6681 300 Bricker Hall
190 N. Oval Mall
Speech and Hearing Science Chair Robert Fox fox.2@osu.edu (614) 292-1628 110 Pressey Hall
1070 Carmack Road

 

Fisher College of Business

Department

Title

Name

Email

Phone

Address

Accounting and Management Information Systems Chair J. Richard Dietrich dietrich.59@osu.edu (614) 292-2082 400 Fisher Hall
2100 Neil Ave.
Finance Chair Bernadette M. Minton minton.15@osu.edu (614) 292-1899 818 Fisher Hall
2100 Neil Ave.
Management and Human Resources Chair Bennett Tepper tepper.15@osu.edu (614) 292-5291 700 Fisher Hall
2100 Neil Ave.
Management Sciences Chair Ken Boyer boyer.9@osu.edu (614) 292-5294 600 Fisher Hall
2100 Neil Ave.
Marketing and Logistics Chair Thomas Goldsby goldsby.2@osu.edu (614) 292-9695 500 Fisher Hall
2100 Neil Ave.

 

College of Dentistry

Please see the Council of Deans page to find contact information for the Dean of Dentistry.

 

College of Education and Human Ecology

Department

Title

Name

Email

Phone

Address

Educational Studies Chair Eric M. Anderman anderman.1@osu.edu (614) 292-9860 121 Ramseyer Hall
29 W. Woodruff Ave.
Human Sciences Chair Carl Maresh maresh.15@osu.edu (614) 247-7243

231 Campbell Hall
1787 Neil Avenue

Teaching and Learning Chair Christian Faltis faltis.1@osu.edu (614) 688-2682

333 Arps Hall
1945 N High St.

 

College of Engineering

Department

Title

Name

Email

Phone

Address

Architecture, School of Director Mike Cadwell cadwell.1@osu.edu (614) 292-3174 200A Knowlton Hall
275 W. Woodruff Ave.
Biomedical Engineering Chair Richard T. Hart hart.322@osu.edu (614) 292-1285 270 Bevis Hall
1080 Carmack Road
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Chair Andre Palmer palmer.351@osu.edu (614) 247-8015 121 Koffolt Laboratories
140 W. 19th Ave.
Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering Chair Dorota Grejner-Brzezinska grejner-brzezinska1@osu.edu (614) 292-3455 470 Bolz Hall
2070 Neil Ave.
Computer Science and Engineering Chair Xiaodong Zhang zhang.574@osu.edu (614) 292-5973 395 Dreese Laboratories
2015 Neil Ave.
Electrical and Computer Engineering Chair Joel Johnson johnson.1374@osu.edu (614) 292-1433 205 Dreese Laboratories
2015 Neil Ave.
Engineering Education Chair Monica Cox cox.1192@osu.edu   2070 Neil Ave.
Integrated Systems Engineering Chair Philip Smith smith.131@osu.edu (614) 292-6841 210 Baker Systems Engineering
1971 Neil Ave.
Materials Science and Engineering Chair Peter Anderson anderson.1@osu.edu (614) 292-6085 177 Watts Hall
2041 College Road
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Chair Vishwanath Subramaniam subramaniam.1@osu.edu (614) 292-0503 N350 Scott Laboratory
201 W. 19th Ave.

 

College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences

Department

Title

Name

Email

Phone

Address

Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership Chair Tracy Kitchel kitchel.2@osu.edu (614) 292-6909 208 Agricultural Admin Building
2120 Fyffe Road
Agricultural, Environmental and Development Economics Chair Tim C. Haab haab.1@osu.edu (614) 292-6423 103 Agricultural Admin Building
2120 Fyffe Road
Agricultural Technical Institute Interim Director Thomas Janini janini.4@osu.edu (330) 287-1212 Halterman Hall
1328 Dover Road
Wooster, OH 44691
Animal Sciences Interim Chair William Weiss weiss.6@osu.edu (614) 292-3232 110 Animal Sciences Bldg
2029 Fyffe Road
Entomology Interim Chair Carol Anelli anelli.7@osu.edu (330) 202-6909 OARDC
1680 Madison Ave
Wooster, OH 44691
Environment and Natural Resources, School of Director Jeff Sharp sharp.123@osu.edu (614) 292-9066 420 Kottman Hall
2021 Coffey Road
Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering Chair Scott Shearer shearer.95@osu.edu (614) 292-9455 200 Agricultural Engineering
590 Woody Hayes Drive
Food Science and Technology Chair Sheryl Barringer

barringer.11@osu.edu

(614) 688-3713 110 Parker Food Science
   & Technology Bldg
2015 Fyffe Court
Horticulture and Crop Science Interim Chair James Metzger metzger.72@osu.edu (614) 247-7718 202 Kottman Hall
2021 Coffey Road
Ohio State University Extension Chair Kenneth E. Martin martin.1540@osu.edu (614) 292-8793 208 Agricultural Admin Building
2120 Fyffe Road
Plant Pathology Chair Laurence Madden madden.1@osu.edu (614) 292-1375 201 Kottman Hall
2021 Coffey Road

 

Michael E. Moritz College of Law

Please see the Council of Deans page to find contact information for the Dean of Law.

 

College of Medicine

Department

Title

Name

Email

Phone

Address

Anesthesiology Chair Ronald L. Harter harter.28@osu.edu (614) 293-8487 N437 Doan Hall
410 W. 10th Ave.
Biomedical Informatics Chair Lang Li li.8958@osu.edu (614) 685-4685 3190 Graves Hall
333 W. 10th Ave.
Emergency Medicine Chair Mark Angelos angelos.1@osu.edu (614) 293-8176 146 Means Hall
1654 Upham Drive
Family Medicine Chair Maryjo Welker welker.3@osu.edu (614) 293-2700 Rardin Center
2231 N. High Street
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, School of Director Deborah Larsen

larsen.64@osu.edu

(614) 292-5921 106 Atwell Hall
453 W. 10th Ave.
Internal Medicine Chair Michael R. Grever

grever.1@osu.edu

(614) 293-8724 215 Means Hall
1654 Upham Drive
Microbial Infection and Immunity Chair Larry S. Schlesinger schlesinger.17@osu.edu (614) 293-5666 N1149
410 W. 10th Ave.
Biological Chemistry and Pharmacology Chair Mark Parthun parthun.1@osu.edu (614) 292-8109 333 Hamilton Hall
1645 Neil Ave.
Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics Chair Carlo M. Croce croce.5@osu.edu (614) 292-3063 1082 Biomedical Research Tower
460 W. 12th Ave.
Neurological Surgery Chair Russell Lonser lonser.1@osu.edu (614) 293-9312 N1021 Doan Hall
410 W. 10th Ave.
Neurology Chair John Kissel kissel.2@osu.edu (614) 366-3525 446 Means Hall
1654 Upham Drive
Neuroscience Chair Randy Nelson nelson.427@osu.edu (614) 688-8792 3187 Graves Hall
333 W. 10th Ave.
Obstetrics and Gynecology Chair Mark B. Landon landon.1@osu.edu (614) 293-8697 505 Means Hall
1654 Upham Drive
Ophthalmology and Visual Sciene
Chair Thomas F. Mauger mauger.2@osu.edu (614) 293-5635 5835 Cramblett Hall
456 W. 10th Ave.
Orthopaedics Chair Andrew Glassman glassman.19@osu.edu (614) 293-8813 Morehouse Medical Plaza-Pavallion
2050 Kenny Road
Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery Interim Chair Theodoros Teknos teknos.1@osu.edu (614) 293-8706 4102 Cranblett Hall
456 W. 10th Ave.
Pathology Interim Chair Wendy Frankel frankel.15@osu.edu (614) 292-4692 129 Hamilton Hall
1645 Neil Ave.
Pediatrics Chair John Barnard barnard.34@osu.edu (614) 722-4451 ED654 Children's Hospital
700 Childrens Drive
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Chair W. Jerry Mysiw mysiw.1@osu.edu (614) 293-3433 1018 Dodd Hall
480 Medical Center Drive
Physiology and Cell Biology Chair Peter Mohler mohler.94@osu.edu (614) 247-2310 300 Hamilton Hall
1645 Neil Ave.
Plastic Surgery Chair Michael J. Miller miller.4335@osu.edu (614) 293-9885 Doan Hall
410 W. 10th Ave.
Psychiatry and Behavioral Health Chair John V. Campo campo.11@osu.edu (614) 293-4266 Room 130A Harding Hospital
1670 Upham Drive
Radiation Oncology Chair Arnab Chakravarti chakravarti.7@osu.edu (614) 293-0672 080B James Cancer Hospital
300 W. 10th Ave.
Radiology Chair Richard D. White white.439@osu.edu (614) 293-9998 080B James Cancer Hospital
300 W. 10th Ave.
Surgery Chair Timothy Pawlik pawlik.6@osu.edu (614) 293-9722 327 Means Hall
1654 Upham Drive
Urology Chair Cheryl Lee lee.7957@osu.edu (614) 293-9253 915 Olentangy River Road, Suite 2000
Columbus, OH 43212

 

College of Nursing

Please see the Council of Deans page to find contact information for the Dean of Nursing.

 

College of Optometry

Please see the Council of Deans page to find contact information for the Dean of Optometry.

 

College of Pharmacy

Please see the Council of Deans page to find contact information for the Dean of Pharmacy.

 

John Glenn College of Public Affairs

Please see the Council of Deans page to find contact information for the Dean of the John Glenn College of Public Affairs.

 

College of Public Health

Please see the Council of Deans page to find contact information for the Dean of Public Health.

 

College of Social Work

Please see the Council of Deans page to find contact information for the Dean of Social Work.

 

University Libraries

Please see the Council of Deans page to find contact information for the Vice Provost and Director of University Libraries.

 

College of Veterinary Medicine

Department

Title

Name

Email

Phone

Address

Veterinary Biosciences Chair Michael J. Oglesbee oglesbee.1@osu.edu (614) 292-4489 0207 Goss Laboratory
1925 Coffey Road
Veterinary Clinical Sciences Chair David Wilkie wilkie.1@osu.edu (614) 292-7105 1010 Veterinary Hospital
601 Vernon Tharp Street

Veterinary Preventive Medicine

Chair Thomas Wittum wittum.1@osu.edu (614) 292-8553 239 Sisson Hall
1920 Coffey Road

 

 

Alphabetical List of Departments and Schools

 

A-D

 

 

E-I

 

 

L-O

 

 

P-Z