Emeritus Academy

Emeritus Academy

The mission of the Emeritus Academy is to recognize and promote the ongoing engagement of emeritus faculty in research and in scholarly and creative activity for the enhanced reputation of the university and for the benefit of society at large:

  • By helping to support scholarly activities through small research and travel grants
  • By promoting a sense of community among Academy members
  • By working appropriately with other units across the university

The Emeritus Academy fosters active scholarship among its members and promotes the concept of lifetime scholars, which benefits its members, The Ohio State University, and the various communities with which they interact. For more information about the Emeritus Academy contact emeritusacademy@osu.edu.

Special Notes: Due to the continuing concerns of the COVID-19 pandemic:

  1.  The Academy lecture series will again be conducted via Zoom meetings (for at least the autumn semester). Please watch for your invitation to RSVP
  2. If you or a colleague seldom access your OSU email please provide an alternative email address to emeritusacademy@osu.edu
  3. The Academy Steering Committee meetings will be held via Zoom.
  4. Members with any concerns related to the Emeritus Academy please contact William (Bill) Ausich (ausich.1@osu.edu).

Steering Committee

The President and Provost’s Advisory Council brought together a group of dedicated faculty who volunteered to serve as the inaugural members of a Founding Council for the Emeritus Academy. This council (Liang-Shih Fan, Robert C. Holub, Brian D. Joseph, Joan R. Leitzel, Terry A. Miller) shaped the Emeritus Academy, which was founded in the 2014-15 academic year. The Emeritus Academy is now guided by a Steering Committee.

Chair; Professor Emeritus of Earth Sciences, Columbus Campus

William Ausich

Chair-Elect; Professor of Emeritus of Educational Studies, Columbus campus

Philip T.K. Daniel

Past Chair; Professor Emerita of Art, Columbus campus

Ardine Nelson

Professor Emeritus of Cardiovascular Medicine, Columbus campus

Carl V. Leier

Professor Emerita of English, Columbus campus

Valerie Lee

Professor Emerita of Dance, Columbus campus

Bebe Miller

Professor Emerita of Comparative Studies, Columbus campus

Julia Watson

Important Dates

Septermber 30, 2021 – Autumn Membership Applications deadline

November 1, 2021 – Autumn Semester Grant Applications deadline

March 4, 2022 – Spring Membership Applications deadline

March 31, 2022 – Five-Year Membership Renewal deadline

May 2, 2022 – Spring Semester Grant Applications deadlines