The National Academies

The National Academies perform an unparalleled public service by bringing together committees of experts in all areas of scientific and technological endeavor. These experts serve pro bono to address critical national issues and give advice to the federal government and the public. Four organizations comprise the Academies: the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, and the National Research Council.

National Academy of Medicine

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) is an independent, nonprofit organization that works outside of government to provide unbiased and authoritative advice to decision makers and the public. The NAM is the health arm of the National Academy of Sciences. Nominations begin on November 1 and close on February 1.

The Ohio State University's current members of the National Academy of Medicine:

  • Clara Bloomfield - Medicine
  • Carlo Croce - Internal Medicine
  • Michael V. Drake - Ophthalmology
  • Steven Gabbe - Medicine
  • Janice Kiecolt-Glaser - Psychology
  • Lonnie King - Veterinary Medicine
  • Bernadette Melnyk - Nursing
  • Milap Nahata - Pharmacy

National Academy of Engineering

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) mission is to promote the technological welfare of the nation by marshaling the knowledge and insights of eminent members of the engineering profession. Click here for information about nominations. Nominations occur between February and May, and nomination packets are available only to NAE-elected members.

The Ohio State University's current members of The National Academy of Engineering:

  • Meyer Benzakein - Aerospace Engineering
  • Stuart Cooper - Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
  • Jose Cruz - Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Liang-Shih Fan - Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
  • Robert Fenton - Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Joseph Heremans - Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
  • W.S. Winston Ho - Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
  • William Marras - Industrial & Systems Engineering
  • Robert Rapp - Materials Science & Engineering
  • Paul Shewmon - Materials Science & Engineering
  • Robert Wagoner - Materials Science & Engineering
  • Marvin H. White - Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • James Williams - Materials Science & Engineering

National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare. Click here for more information about nominations. Nominations occur throughout the year, culminating in a final ballot at the Academy's annual meeting in April.

The Ohio State University's members of The National Academy of Sciences:

  • Carlo Croce - Internal Medicine
  • Albert de la Chapelle - Molecular Virology, Immunology & Medical Genetics
  • David Denlinger - Entomology
  • Avner Friedman - Mathematics
  • Tina Henkin - Microbiology
  • Ellen Mosley-Thompson - Human Environmental Science
  • Leo Paquette - Chemistry
  • Yasuko Rikihisa - Veterinary Biosciences
  • Linda Saif - Veterinary Preventive Medicine
  • Lonnie Thompson - Geological Sciences

National Academy of Inventors

The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) is a non-profit organization dedicated to encouraging inventors in academia, following the model of the National Academies of the United States. Click here for information on NAI Fellowships. Fellowship nominations are open from May to July, with the winners announced in December.

The Ohio State University's current members of the National Academy of Inventors:

  • Katrina Cornish - Horticulture and Crop Science (OARDC)
  • Prabir Dutta - Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Liang-Shih Fan - Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Yasuko Rikihisa - Veterinary Biosciences
  • Linda Saif - Veterinary Preventive Medicine (OARDC)
  • Caroline Whitacre - Microbial Infection and Immunity