The Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize

From the Nobel Prize website: "Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace. The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. Each prize consists of a medal, personal diploma, and a cash award."

For more information on the Nobel Laueates:

The following alumni and faculty members of The Ohio State University have been recognized as Nobel laureates:

  • Paul Flory, 1974, Chemistry (PhD, Ohio State, 1934)
  • William A. Fowler, 1983, Physics (BS, Ohio State, 1933)
  • Kenneth G. Wilson, 1982, Physics (faculty, 1988-2002)
  • C.K. Shum, 2007, Contributed to the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize (PhD, University of Texas at Austin, 1982; faculty, 1997–present)
  • Pierre Agostini, 2023, Physics (faculty, 2005-2018)

Additionally, Rattan Lal (PhD, Ohio State, 1968; faculty, 1987-present) was a member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), which shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with Al Gore.