International Strategic Planning

International Strategic Plan

Defining Ohio State’s Global Priorities

During academic year 2019-20, Ohio State will develop a new International Strategic Plan that defines our global priorities in teaching, research and engagement for the next five years. The participation of the university community and key external partners drives a process designed to reinforce and elevate past achievements and coordinate the future work of Ohio State. Through campus and community discussions, the strategy will identify opportunities that ensure Ohio State’s unique capacity as a modern land-grant university to create, disseminate and apply knowledge for the global public good.

Process: International Strategic Plan 2020-2025

In line with the university's strategic plan, Time and Change, Ohio State is undertaking an enterprise-wide planning process that builds on our unique assets and strengths to reimagine the international dimension of our mission as a modern land-grant university.

A steering committee chaired by Gil Latz, vice provost for global strategies and international affairs, and Randy Smith, vice provost for academic programs, solicited the insights of key stakeholders from across the university before organizing five working groups to pursue a data-driven analysis of these areas:

  • International education and student experience
  • Internationally significant research
  • Strong international partnerships and collaborations
  • Global operations
  • International reputation and outreach

The working groups’ recommendations will be the basis of the strategic plan that is presented to President Drake and Provost McPheron before the end of the 2019-2020 academic year. Pending their approval, the plan will be implemented beginning in summer 2020.

 

Gil Latz, Vice Provost for International Affairs and Global Strategies
The Importance of Internationalization at Ohio State

Timeline and announcements

ISP web page launched

In support of Ohio State’s international strategic planning process, the Office of Academic Affairs launched a web page to provide background information and updates to the university community. The portal also provides an opportunity to submit comments, which will be forwarded to the appropriate working groups as well as steering committee co-chairs, Gil Latz and Randy Smith.

Progress continues as all five of the international strategic plan working groups will have met at least once by the end of autumn semester. The groups will submit recommendations to the core management team in February 2020.

Work on international strategic plan moves to next stage

Chairs and vice-chairs were appointed for five working groups and they began selecting committee members representing a broad cross-section of the university. The working groups are charged with developing goals, tactics and success metrics around five themes:

  • International education and student experience
  • Internationally significant research
  • Strong international partnerships and collaborations
  • Global operations
  • International reputation and outreach  

Each working group has been directed to identify the strengths and weaknesses of Ohio State's international engagement in their respective areas and to outline the steps needed to move the university forward.

Thematic areas defined

The core management team further defined the structure of the international strategic planning process, identified five thematic areas that will constitute the framework for the plan, developed guiding questions and extended invitations to faculty and staff to serve as co-chairs of the working groups. The five thematic areas include: international education and student experience; internationally significant research; strong international partnerships and collaborations; global operations; and international reputation and outreach.

Office of Strategy Management lends support

The Office of International Affairs and the Office of Strategy Management together began collaborating to outline a path for Ohio State to develop and implement an international strategic plan that aligns with the university’s plan, Time and Change. A core management team that includes staff from each office, the Office of Academic Affairs, and Robin Helms, an expert on campus internationalization from the American Council on Education, was identified to facilitate the process, alongside Gil Latz and Randy Smith, co-chairs of the International Strategic Planning Steering Committee. 

Research began to identify and analyze national trends as well as gather benchmark data from the Top 10 public research institutions and Big 10 universities. Information was gathered on international rankings, student mobility, sponsored research, international partnerships, among a host of other topics. Over the next few months, interviews would be conducted with university leadership and key faculty and staff to gain insight on their thoughts on internationalization and Ohio State’s aspirations.

Redefining Ohio State's international role

Ohio State launched an enterprise-wide planning process to reimagine its international role as a modern land-grant university.

Led by a steering committee chaired by Gil Latz, vice provost for global strategies and international affairs, and Randy Smith, vice provost for academic programs, Ohio State began the process of developing a five-year international strategic plan that supports and complements the goals outlined in the university’s comprehensive strategic plan, Time and Change.

Th international strategic plan will be presented to President Drake and Provost McPheron before the end of the 2019-2020 academic year. Pending their approval, the plan will be implemented beginning in summer 2020.

The steering committee is composed of senior leaders from the colleges, regional campuses and administrative units and is being assisted in its work by Gail Marsh, Ohio State’s chief strategy officer, and Robin Helms, an expert on campus internationalization from the American Council on Education.

Working groups and their guiding questions

How does Ohio State fulfill its mission to create engaged citizens through international curriculum and learning opportunities? How does Ohio State increase opportunities for international learners on campus and abroad?

  • Chair, Terrell Morgan, professor of Hispanic linguistics, Department of Spanish and Portuguese; director of Center for Latin American Studies, Office of International Affairs, morgan.3@osu.edu
  • Co-chair, Jenny Kraft, education abroad program specialist, Office of International Affairs, kraft.51@osu.edu
  • Ola Ahlqvist, associate vice provost for academic enrichment and executive director of the Honors & Scholars Center, Office of Academic Affairs, ahlqvist.1@osu.edu
  • Mera Cronbaugh, first-year undergraduate student, cronbaugh.4@osu.edu
  • Cindy (Xinquan) Jiang, senior research associate, Office of International Affairs, jiang.533@osu.edu
  • Marcus Kurtz, director, Undergraduate International Studies Program, Department of Political Science, kurtz.61@polisci.osu.edu 
  • Jesus Lara, associate professor and master program’s chair, Knowlton School of Architecture, lara.13@osu.edu
  • Julius Mayo, assistant director of academic initiatives, Office of Student Life, University Housing, mayo.2@osu.edu
  • Brian Slater, associate professor, School of Environment and Natural Resources; associate director of Soil Environment Technology Learning Lab, slater.39@osu.edu

What global research partnerships should Ohio State leverage and in which research areas is the university positioned to be a global leader?

  • Chair, Angela Brintlinger, professor and director of Center for Slavic and East European Studies, chair of graduate studies, Department of Slavic and East European Languages and Culture, brintlinger.3@osu.edu
  • Co-chair, Carina Hansen, director, International Students and Scholars, Office of International Affairs, hansen.34@osu.edu
  • Anne Carey, professor of geology, School of Earth Sciences, carey.145@osu.edu
  • Christopher Gelpi, professor of political science, Department of Political Science; chair of Peace Studies & Conflict Resolution; director of Mershon Center for International Security Studies, gelpi.10@osu.edu
  • Esther Gottlieb, senior advisor for international affairs, Office of International Affairs, gottlieb.26@osu.edu
  • Elena Irwin, professor of environmental economics, Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics; director of Sustainability Institute, irwin.78@osu.edu
  • Jonathan Jacobs, assistant professor of plant pathology, Department of Plant Pathology, jacobs.1080@osu.edu
  • Randy Moses, senior associate vice president for research administration, Office of Academic Affairs; professor of electrical and computer engineering, College of Engineering, moses.2@osu.edu
  • Patricia Sieber, associate professor of Chinese literature, Department of East Asian Languages and Literatures, sieber.6@osu.edu
  • Hannah Vidmar, graduate student, African American & African Studies, vidmar.13@osu.edu

How does Ohio State strengthen existing partnerships and target new strategic collaborations and partnerships?

  • Chair, Etsuyo Yuasa, associate professor of Japanese, Department of East Asian Languages and Literature; director of East Asian Studies Center, Office of International Affairs, yuasa.1@osu.edu
  • Co-chair, Padmini Roy-Dixon, executive director, Global Gateways and Partnerships, Office of International Affairs, roy-dixon.1@osu.edu
  • Seth Faith, strategic alliance officer, Infectious Diseases Institute, faith.3@osu.edu
  • Laura Fernandez-Alvarez, assistant dean for international and graduate affairs, Moritz College of Law, fernandez-alvarez.1@osu.edu
  • Garrett Heysel, assistant dean of arts & humanities and international programs, College of Arts and Sciences, heysel.1@osu.edu
  • Josh Knights, senior associate director, Sustainability Institute, knights.16@osu.edu
  • Joanna Kukielka-Blaser, director of partnerships, Office of International Affairs, kukielka-blaser.1@osu.edu
  • Tatiana Suspitsyna, associate professor of higher education and student affairs, College of Education and Human Ecology, suspitsyna.1@osu.edu 

How can Ohio State create a high-performing global operations infrastructure to reduce barriers for international learning, partnerships, and knowledge creation and dissemination?

  • Chair, Eric Bode, senior fiscal officer, College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, bode.42@osu.edu
  • Co-chair, Kirti Jain, interim senior fiscal officer, Office of International Affairs, jain.130@osu.edu
  • Ashley Behrendt, assistant director, Global Gateways and Partnerships, Office of International Affairs, behrendt.16@osu.edu
  • Kris Devine, vice president of operations and deputy chief financial officer, Office of Business and Finance, devine.99@osu.edu
  • Gates Garrity-Rokous, vice president and chief compliance officer, Office of University Compliance and Integrity, garrity-rokous.1@osu.edu
  • Mike Hofherr, vice president and chief information officer, Office of the Chief Information Officer, hofherr.3@osu.edu
  • Kim Shumate, associate vice president of strategic initiatives, Office of Human Resources, shumate.13@osu.edu
  • Chris Wald, legal intern, Global One Health Initiative, Office of International Affairs, wald.12@osu.edu

How can Ohio State build its brand through international communication?

  • Chair, Fernando Unzueta, associate vice provost for global strategies and international affairs and professor in the Department of Spanish and Portuguese, unzueta.1@osu.edu
  • Co-chair, Maureen Miller, director of communications, Office of International Affairs, miller.4468@osu.edu
  • Jacquie Aberegg, senior director, enterprise brand and marketing strategy, University Marketing, aberegg.14@osu.edu
  • Carol Anelli, professor of entomology, College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, anelli.7@osu.edu
  • J. Mark Erbaugh, director, International Programs in Agriculture, College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, erbaugh.1@osu.edu
  • Dawn Larzelere, director of communications and marketing, Office of Research, larzelere.3@osu.edu
  • Dianne Morrison-Beedy, centennial professor of nursing, chief talent and strategy officer, College of Nursing, morrison-beedy.1@osu.edu
  • Erik Nisbet, associate professor, School of Communications, co-director Eurasian Security and Governance Program, Mershon Center for International Security Studies, nisbet.5@osu.edu
  • Matt Schutte, director of communications, College of Engineering , schutte.9@osu.edu
  • Don Stenta, assistant vice president alumni experiences, Alumni Association, stenta.1@osu.edu
  • Walter Zinn, professor of logistics, associate dean for graduate students and programs, Fisher College of Business; zinn.13@osu.edu

Steering Committee members

Co-Chair; Vice Provost for Global Strategies and International Affairs

Gil Latz

Co-Chair; Vice Provost for Academic Programs

W. Randy Smith

Senior Vice President for Talent and Culture

Susan Basso

Vice Provost for Graduate Studies and Dean of the Graduate School

Alicia Bertone

Interim Senior Vice President for Student Life

Molly Ranz Calhoun

Senior Vice President for the Office of Advancement

Michael Eicher

Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer

Gates Garrity-Rokous

Vice President and Chief Information Officer

Michael B. Hofherr

Vice Provost for Student Academic Success and Dean of Undergraduate Education
Professor of Linguistics

Beth V. Hume

Vice President and Dean of the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences

Cathann A. Kress

Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer

James L. Moore, III

Divisional Dean, Social and Behavioral Sciences

Morton O'Kelly

Senior Vice President for Business and Finance, Chief Financial Officer and University Treasurer

Michael Papadakis

Executive Vice President and Chancellor for Health Affairs

Harold Paz

Dean of the College of Education and Human Ecology

Donald B. Pope-Davis

Vice President for Government Relations

Stacy Rastauskas

Dean and Director of Ohio State Marion and Executive Dean of the Regional Campus Cluster

Gregory S. Rose

Senior Vice President for Research

Morley Stone

Dean of the College of Engineering

David B. Williams

Dean of the College of Optometry and Executive Dean for Health Sciences

Karla S. Zadnik

Core team members

Co-Chair; Vice Provost for Global Strategies and International Affairs

Gil Latz

Co-Chair; Vice Provost for Academic Programs

W. Randy Smith

Strategic Planning Manager, Strategy Management Office

Sarah Butts

Director, Strategy and Business Development, Wexner Medical Center

Andrew Dorr

Deputy Chief Innovation Officer and Principal Internationalization Strategist, ACE

Robin Matross Helms

Director of Communications, Office of International Affairs

Maureen Miller

Office of Academic Affairs, Communications

Tom Rinderle

Executive Director, Global Gateways and Partnerships, Office of International Affairs

Padmini Roy-Dixon

Associate Vice Provost for Global Strategies and International Affairs

Fernando Unzueta

Senior Associate Vice President, Strategic Analysis, Strategy Management Office

Henry Zheng

Offer your thoughts

Because the international mission touches every part of Ohio State, we invite comments from the entire university community. If you have suggestions related to the International Strategic Plan or the process involved, please complete the form at the link below. Your comments will be delivered to the most appropriate working group and to the steering committee co-chairs, Dr. Latz and Dr. Smith. We encourage you to leave your name and contact information so we can follow up or get more information if necessary, but you also have the option to comment anonymously.