From the Provost — June 26, 2018

Reappointment of Dean Trevor Brown

Dear Colleagues,

I write to advise you that I am pleased to recommend the reappointment of Trevor L. Brown, PhD, as dean of the John Glenn College of Public Affairs. Subject to approval by the Board of Trustees, his second term will be effective July 1, 2018, through June 30, 2023.

Dean Brown's leadership of a collaborative effort spanning across the faculty, staff, students, alumni and university leaders enabled the transition of the Glenn School to the John Glenn College of Public Affairs. Further, during his term as dean, the college strengthened its curriculum by adding a BS in public policy analysis and restructuring the BA in public management, leadership, and policy.

Dean Brown also leads significant outreach and engagement programs, including his service as the executive director of the State of Ohio Leadership Institute, an important resource for Ohio's local and state elected officials. He also facilitated the creation of a leadership certificate for law enforcement officials through the State of Ohio's Department of Public Safety and a new certificate in Public and Nonprofit Leadership.

As dean, he continues to teach and conduct research on public management governance and public-private partnerships. His research is extensively cited by other scholars and government officials.

His honors and awards include election as a fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration, the National Institute of Governmental Purchasing's Scholar of the Year, and a four-time recipient of the former Glenn School Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award.

Dean Brown joined Ohio State's faculty in 2001. He earned a BA in public policy from Stanford University and a PhD in public policy and political science from Indiana University.

Please join me in congratulating Trevor as he begins his second term. I look forward to working with him as we continue our ambitious agenda for the college and the university.


Bruce A. McPheron, PhD
Executive Vice President and Provost