From the Provost — November 17, 2017

Research Leadership Transition Update

Dear Colleagues:

I write to advise you that Randolph L. Moses, PhD, senior associate vice president for research and professor of electrical and computer engineering, will serve as interim senior vice president for research, effective January 1, 2018. Please join me in thanking Dr. Moses for assuming this pivotal role while we conduct a national search for a new senior vice president for research.

Dr. David Williams, dean of the College of Engineering and executive dean of the professional colleges, will serve as chair of a search advisory committee of the following colleagues:

  • Anne Dorrance, College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences
  • Michael Eicher, Office of University Advancement
  • John Horack, College of Engineering & John Glenn College of Public Affairs
  • Brian Joseph, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jacquelyn Meshelemiah, College of Social Work
  • Peter Mohler, College of Medicine
  • Amanda Montoya, Council of Graduate Students
  • James Moore, Office of Diversity & Inclusion
  • DJ Nag, Technology Commercialization Office
  • Matt Ringel, The James, Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Elisabeth Root, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Blake Thompson, Office of Government Affairs
  • Kim Toussant, Office of Research
  • Karla Zadnik, College of Optometry

Ex Officio:

  • Susan M. Basso, senior vice president for talent, culture and human resources

I will meet with Dean Williams and the other search advisory committee members to give them the charge and launch the search. Please join me in thanking them for their commitment to the university and its leadership of our research and innovation mission.


Bruce A. McPheron, PhD
Executive Vice President and Provost

Office of Research